The Beauty of the Old Web

Published 8/21/24

I wrote this a few weeks ago for myself on Obsidian but thought I'd share it here as I think it is worth sharing and I also want to test how to post something on here. With that being said, here's the post:

The internet is evolving. It's growing at an unprecedented pace. With that, comes money, lots of it. Every time you see an ad, you put more money into the pockets of the people who practically run the web. That's where the old web comes in. Back before the days of social media, thousands of people had personal websites where they'd talk about whatever they wanted. These websites typically just consisted of HTML and CSS but they could be used to tell a story.

These websites are a way of fighting against the corporatization of the internet. When making one you don't need to worry about likes, followers, or how much money you can make from it. It's like a journal that the world can see. I think if we use these webpages to express ourselves then we can truly find ourselves in a time in which we rely on massive companies for our happiness.